Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Tiger Tool Connection Problem  (Read 6863 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Night Falcon

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • white...no sugar
  • Bike: 2012 800XC
  • Location: New Zealand
Tiger Tool Connection Problem
« on: November 23, 2016, 01:47:23 AM »
Hi guys, can anyone help.....I have downloaded the free tiger tool software (from this site  :001:) and purchased the OBD2 ELM 327 (v1.5) USB connector but getting the bike and the software to talk is proving problematic.

I keep getting  the can't connect to OBD interface message then on a second attempt I get an error message (see attachment)

I have checked both Tiger Tool and the OBD2 are both on the same com port. Com3 appears to be the software default which I cant change, but can reallocate OBD2 to match.

Here's my procedure to connect (which I've done in various order to see if it will work)

Connect OBD2 to USB port on laptop (win 10)

Kill switch on, ignition on

Connect OBD2 to bike port

Open tiger tool, press Agree tab

select port option Com3 (only one ever available)

press connect.....then no connection.

Windows 10 says it has the latest drivers....but maybe this is the problem? OBD2 software has some old windows drives (vista, XP, 98 etc) but I assume the latest ones should be fine?

I'm reasonably confident I have the correct OBD2 connector and the software looks ok....so any procedural or other suggestions I can try to make it work?

Thanks for any help  :152:


I am the eggman....They are the eggmen
I am the walrus............Goo goo g' joob

Offline Chook22

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 276
  • Bike: Tiger XCA
  • Location: Melbourne
Re: Tiger Tool Connection Problem
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2016, 05:06:44 AM »
I've found to get a consistent connection, I:

1. Plug OBD2 lead to PC USB port
2.  reboot my PC (I've used both a windows 7 laptop and a windows 10 surface)
3. start tigertool
4. select the correct comm port
5. connect the OBD2 to the bike
6. Connect to ECU

This seems the connect every time for me.

HTH


 

Offline Burt

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
  • Bike: Tiger 800 XCX
  • Location: QLD AUS
Re: Tiger Tool Connection Problem
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2016, 05:51:02 AM »
*Originally Posted by Night Falcon [+]

Windows 10 says it has the latest drivers....but maybe this is the problem? OBD2 software has some old windows drives (vista, XP, 98 etc) but I assume the latest ones should be fine?

Thanks for any help  :152:

My win10 did not have the right driver for the OBD 327 and windows could not also find it online. I had to install the CH340 driver that came with the unit (in the little CD)

More info HERE

Offline Rtwo

  • Tiger Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4528
  • Bike: KTM 1290 SAS
  • Location: Co. Durham
Re: Tiger Tool Connection Problem
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2016, 06:03:52 AM »
With the OBD connected to your PC, what entries have you got in Device Manager (right click start button and select) under 'Comm Ports'?

The party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command.
....George Orwell

Check the Facts !!

Offline Night Falcon

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • white...no sugar
  • Bike: 2012 800XC
  • Location: New Zealand
Re: Tiger Tool Connection Problem
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2016, 08:32:55 AM »
Device Manager opens the port (com3) automatically when the OBD is connected to the pc. Tabs reads"

-Ports (COM & LPT)
    - Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (COM3)

I'm thinking it will be some annoying windows config problem so might investigate Burt's comments on the drivers further.

Really appreciate the help btw....this site rocks.....almost as much as my Tiger   :020:

I am the eggman....They are the eggmen
I am the walrus............Goo goo g' joob

Offline T800XC

  • Premier Member
  • Tiger Jedi
  • *
  • Posts: 2390
  • Bike: Tiger 1200 XRT
  • Location: English Riviera
Re: Tiger Tool Connection Problem
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2016, 10:47:47 AM »
*Originally Posted by Night Falcon [+]

I keep getting  the can't connect to OBD interface message then on a second attempt I get an error message (see attachment)


That looks like a Windows driver error rather than a specific TigerTool error. None of my software creates that message.
  
...happiness isn't happiness without a violin-playing goat...

Offline Night Falcon

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • white...no sugar
  • Bike: 2012 800XC
  • Location: New Zealand
Re: Tiger Tool Connection Problem
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2016, 12:07:26 PM »
After some investigation I'm leaning toward a Windows driver problem.

When it loads the drivers you get the classic Code10 failure, then updating with the correct driver it falls over with a Code 31 error.

The OBD2 I have is on the approved list so you would think the micro chip is good but as most of these problems seem to be caused by cheap Chinese Prolific chips its looking decidedly dodgy.....the investigation continues  :232:
« Last Edit: November 23, 2016, 12:31:43 PM by Night Falcon »
I am the eggman....They are the eggmen
I am the walrus............Goo goo g' joob

Offline Rtwo

  • Tiger Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 4528
  • Bike: KTM 1290 SAS
  • Location: Co. Durham
Re: Tiger Tool Connection Problem
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2016, 12:27:20 PM »
Before you try another driver, uninstall the device in Device manager and then do a reboot without it connected
The party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command.
....George Orwell

Check the Facts !!

Offline Night Falcon

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 17
  • white...no sugar
  • Bike: 2012 800XC
  • Location: New Zealand
Re: Tiger Tool Connection Problem
« Reply #8 on: November 23, 2016, 10:43:36 PM »
Tried installing OBD2 and DT v1 on my brides laptop which runs win7. All works fine, so problem is a windows 10 driver issue.

Have tried many things to stop windows from updating the OBD2 drivers that came with it (including denying it internet) all to no avail  :151:

I wont give up though............. :211:

EDIT: progress on the win7 platform was not as progressed as I'd 1st thought. It does get a little further down the line but falls over when attempting the ECU handshake. Well at least its found the OBD2. Maybe my free version 1 DT isn't up to it? Are there any later freebies of it available?
« Last Edit: November 24, 2016, 01:27:31 AM by Night Falcon »
I am the eggman....They are the eggmen
I am the walrus............Goo goo g' joob

Offline Stevie.P

  • Tiger Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3909
  • 'Arte et Marte' ......... By Skill and by Fighting
  • Bike: 2015 Tiger XRt
  • Location: Plymouth, UK
Re: Tiger Tool Connection Problem
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2016, 08:11:24 AM »
*Originally Posted by Night Falcon [+]
EDIT: Maybe my free version 1 DT isn't up to it? Are there any later freebies of it available?

I assume you meant Tiger Tool V1 (not Dealer Tool) in which case the latest version is V2.

https://www.tiger800.co.uk/index.php/topic,16987.0.html
Also owned my 1979 Bonnie T140E from new!

We don't stop playing because we grow old .. WE GROW OLD BECAUSE WE STOP PLAYING!!!


 


Recent Topics