Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: 30amp fuse mod kit. X2  (Read 1460 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Nick_2112

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
  • Location: South Lakes, UK
30amp fuse mod kit. X2
« on: August 18, 2017, 11:45:39 PM »
Hi, I have two made up kits of fuse holder, extended to be long enough, included is a 30A fuse and the 2 spade terminals that pop in where the fuse went. also heat shrink to insulate the spades. you just need to drill 2 holes in the plastic fuse cover, pop the 2 wires through and either solder or crimp the 2 spades on, insulate and you're good to go.

I have just done this mod see link; https://www.tiger800.co.uk/index.php/topic,4035.0.html. pages 8 & 11 have good clear pics.

I made one for myself, one for a friend and had the bits to make 2 more. So 12 each inc freepost in UK.

Please note the wire guage I used is 12 awg. This is in many posters opinion quite suitable, see this wire guage calculator if unsure,
https://www.wirebarn.com/Wire-Calculator-_ep_41.html ......if you put in, 13.8v, 2 feet length & 30A the chart says ok for 12 awg.

If you are unsure, don't buy one please.

Offline grizzlybear

  • Tiger Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1106
  • Bike: tiger 800Xr
  • Location: Walsall UK
Re: 30amp fuse mod kit. X2
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2021, 04:34:31 PM »
Hi

Have you still got a fuse kit for sale , save me making one up :017:
Safe Riding
Dave( Grizzlybear) honda 125T,  Z650C2, GPZ750, GTR1000, VX800, VN1500 ,2013 tiger800,2018 Tiger800Xr, CG125 and loads of C90`s  :)

Online Londonglide

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
  • Bike: xc
  • Location: LondonTown
Re: 30amp fuse mod kit. X2
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2021, 05:04:56 PM »
Just for the sake of balance, I did this type of Mod, using a NAPA 30A fuse holder, and the fuse holder started to melt due to the quality of the factory crimp.
I also noted that the quality of the fuse makes a difference, as cheap fuses tend to use poor quality metal for the tangs, potentially causing further connection problems.
I will find some pictures, I have posted them before.
On the same theme of quality components, the two spade connectors into the original fuse holder need to be good quality too.
I actually got a new relay, and bought some high quality fuses, and refitted it back to original.
I have split the old relay assembly open, and you can use a ring connector on one side of the assembly, as the fuse is fed from there, and possibly solder to the steel under the fuse connector.
I will update with pictures.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2021, 05:13:15 PM by Londonglide »

Offline grizzlybear

  • Tiger Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1106
  • Bike: tiger 800Xr
  • Location: Walsall UK
Re: 30amp fuse mod kit. X2
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2021, 05:22:58 PM »
Ain`t got a clue what you on about  :191:

I ain`t keen on electrics  :121:
Safe Riding
Dave( Grizzlybear) honda 125T,  Z650C2, GPZ750, GTR1000, VX800, VN1500 ,2013 tiger800,2018 Tiger800Xr, CG125 and loads of C90`s  :)

Offline Nick_2112

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
  • Location: South Lakes, UK
Re: 30amp fuse mod kit. X2
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2021, 06:01:06 PM »
*Originally Posted by grizzlybear [+]
Hi

Have you still got a fuse kit for sale , save me making one up :017:

Sorry no they both sold a long time ago, on another note mine has held up perfectly with no problems and I just bought the required parts from ebay, worthwhile mod in my opinion.

Offline grizzlybear

  • Tiger Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1106
  • Bike: tiger 800Xr
  • Location: Walsall UK
Re: 30amp fuse mod kit. X2
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2021, 06:14:37 PM »
Cheers for reply, I thought it was a long shot, but np.

Still can't understand why the fuse is so badly positioned
Safe Riding
Dave( Grizzlybear) honda 125T,  Z650C2, GPZ750, GTR1000, VX800, VN1500 ,2013 tiger800,2018 Tiger800Xr, CG125 and loads of C90`s  :)

Offline Nick_2112

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 343
  • Location: South Lakes, UK
Re: 30amp fuse mod kit. X2
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2021, 07:23:37 PM »
*Originally Posted by grizzlybear [+]
Cheers for reply, I thought it was a long shot, but np.

Still can't understand why the fuse is so badly positioned
Ridiculous place isn't it, wouldn't fancy having to change it on a cold, dark and wet road.

Online Stevie.P

  • Tiger Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3944
  • 'Arte et Marte' ......... By Skill and by Fighting
  • Bike: 2015 Tiger XRt
  • Location: Plymouth, UK
Re: 30amp fuse mod kit. X2
« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2021, 08:04:58 PM »
*Originally Posted by grizzlybear [+]
Still can't understand why the fuse is so badly positioned

Just a bit of background info, you can find it if you search the forum.
Badly positioned yes .... but I think you're missing a difference in bikes and possibly worrying needlessly. I think Nick has a 2013 'Gen 1' Tiger and the remote fuse was (AIUI from long past posts) a weak point in that the bottom of the battery tray has an inadequate drain hole that often blocked allowing water build up that ultimately messed with the fuse by causing corrosion and problems and hence some owners came up with the remote fuse mod while others simply put things like cable ties, plug chain, etc. through the hole that they could jiggle from below occasionally to ensure it wasn't blocked.

On the 'Gen 2' 2015on the drain hole is massive and even after 5.5yrs of sitting out uncovered in all weathers I've not found any signs of corrosion or had any need to go there. The only thing I did 18 months ago when I renewed the battery was check the state of the fuse and solenoid out of interest while the battery was out and they were fine and I applied some Contralube 770 electrical contact grease.
Also owned my 1979 Bonnie T140E from new!

We don't stop playing because we grow old .. WE GROW OLD BECAUSE WE STOP PLAYING!!!


Offline grizzlybear

  • Tiger Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 1106
  • Bike: tiger 800Xr
  • Location: Walsall UK
Re: 30amp fuse mod kit. X2
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2021, 08:23:26 PM »
Cheers for your input Stevie,  I reached 60 , so getting paranoid  :034:

Still annoyed that I put battery leads on wrong way round, but the 30A fuse saved the electrics :031:

Still a silly place to put a fuse though :084:
Safe Riding
Dave( Grizzlybear) honda 125T,  Z650C2, GPZ750, GTR1000, VX800, VN1500 ,2013 tiger800,2018 Tiger800Xr, CG125 and loads of C90`s  :)

Offline gryan39

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 214
  • Bike: Triumph tiger800
  • Location: Stirling
Re: 30amp fuse mod kit. X2
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2021, 09:17:20 PM »
Think I'll check my 2013 bike for corrosion in fuse area

 


Recent Topics