Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Throttle bodies question  (Read 1778 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Trekker

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Bike: 2011 800 XC
  • Location: Hampshire, UK
Re: Throttle bodies question
« Reply #20 on: July 18, 2018, 02:31:58 PM »
Just out of interest, can the throttle bodies be synced using Tune ECU on an Android phone or do you specifically require the dealer tool?

Offline T800XC

  • Premier Member
  • Tiger Jedi
  • *
  • Posts: 1893
  • Bike: 800XC & Explorer
  • Location: English Riviera
Re: Throttle bodies question
« Reply #21 on: July 18, 2018, 02:44:24 PM »
*Originally Posted by Trekker [+]
Just out of interest, can the throttle bodies be synced using Tune ECU on an Android phone or do you specifically require the dealer tool?
TuneECU, Dealertool & TigerTool can all check throttle body balance allowing you to adjust (with a screwdriver) & re-check them if necessary.

To use TuneECU on later models (Mk2 & Mk3) you can only do this with the Android version, whereas Dealertool & TigerTool work on all models.
« Last Edit: July 18, 2018, 02:46:02 PM by T800XC »
  
...happiness isn't happiness without a violin-playing goat...

Offline Trekker

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Bike: 2011 800 XC
  • Location: Hampshire, UK
Re: Throttle bodies question
« Reply #22 on: July 18, 2018, 05:15:47 PM »
*Originally Posted by T800XC [+]
TuneECU, Dealertool & TigerTool can all check throttle body balance allowing you to adjust (with a screwdriver) & re-check them if necessary.

To use TuneECU on later models (Mk2 & Mk3) you can only do this with the Android version, whereas Dealertool & TigerTool work on all models.
Many thanks for this info T800, useful for the future

Offline philmcglass

  • Premier Member
  • Tiger Pro
  • *
  • Posts: 246
  • Mine's a pint
  • Bike: Tiger 800 2013
  • Location: Embruh
Re: Throttle bodies question
« Reply #23 on: July 18, 2018, 07:48:42 PM »
Find the Line

Offline KildareMan

  • Tiger Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7566
  • Bike: Venom Yellow 800
  • Location: Kildare Ireland
Re: Throttle bodies question
« Reply #24 on: July 18, 2018, 08:09:31 PM »
*Originally Posted by philmcglass [+]

This is the mk1.  What of mk2 & 3?
Stupid is as stupid does.  Look Dad... No hands!!

Offline philmcglass

  • Premier Member
  • Tiger Pro
  • *
  • Posts: 246
  • Mine's a pint
  • Bike: Tiger 800 2013
  • Location: Embruh
Re: Throttle bodies question
« Reply #25 on: July 18, 2018, 08:40:47 PM »
Not got that manual.
Will it be a lot differnent?
Find the Line

Offline KildareMan

  • Tiger Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 7566
  • Bike: Venom Yellow 800
  • Location: Kildare Ireland
Re: Throttle bodies question
« Reply #26 on: July 18, 2018, 09:43:21 PM »
*Originally Posted by philmcglass [+]
Not got that manual.
Will it be a lot differnent?

Traditional cable v ride by wire
Stupid is as stupid does.  Look Dad... No hands!!

Offline The Reaper

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • Bike: 800 XRX
  • Location: Northants, UK
Re: Throttle bodies question
« Reply #27 on: July 19, 2018, 11:12:00 AM »
*Originally Posted by philmcglass [+]
Not got that manual.
Will it be a lot differnent?

If you look at the pictures I posted of my throttle bodies the adjustment screws are not clearly visible.

Offline JMc

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 737
  • Bike: tiger800
  • Location: Gloucestershire
Re: Throttle bodies question
« Reply #28 on: July 19, 2018, 01:19:15 PM »
that's because the one photo of the throttle bodies on their own is from an earlier cable operated throttle, yours is a ride by wire and has the servo motor on the top of the throttle bodies to open and close them when you twist the throttle, which is why its looks different.

I would imagine the adjusters are still there but under the metal casting of the inlets....perhaps!?

Offline The Reaper

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 172
  • Bike: 800 XRX
  • Location: Northants, UK
Re: Throttle bodies question
« Reply #29 on: July 19, 2018, 01:31:42 PM »
*Originally Posted by JMc [+]
that's because the one photo of the throttle bodies on their own is from an earlier cable operated throttle, yours is a ride by wire and has the servo motor on the top of the throttle bodies to open and close them when you twist the throttle, which is why its looks different.

I would imagine the adjusters are still there but under the metal casting of the inlets....perhaps!?

Yes, I realise the illustration is from a pre 15 model and my bike is ride by wire, which is why Im guessing the adjusters are possibly in a similar place, but would be handy to get confirmation from someone who has actually done it. 🙂

 


Recent Topics


winded-staunch