Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Trying to use TigerTools but...  (Read 1561 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PapaTom

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
  • Bike: Blue XRx
  • Location: Barnsley, UK
Re: Trying to use TigerTools but...
« Reply #20 on: August 10, 2018, 06:11:58 PM »
Rob.
When I plug my lead into my windows7 laptop, it registers on com3, no problem.
Tom

Online Rtwo

  • Tiger Jedi
  • *****
  • Posts: 3830
  • Bike: KTM 1290 SAS
  • Location: Co. Durham
Re: Trying to use TigerTools but...
« Reply #21 on: August 10, 2018, 06:21:33 PM »
*Originally Posted by Norumph [+]


I do wonder if my netbook is part of the problem. Windows 7 Device Manager doesn't show any COM ports, and the OBD won't allow some of the diagnostics because it says no COM ports are found. Yet the basic test software says it's connected to COM 4. Maybe I should be asking on a computer forum!

If you have the Device Manager open and connect the OBDII cable to a USB port, you see anything happening? (in Device Manager)
Tinkering is what happens when you try something you dont quite know how to do, guided by whim, imagination, and curiosity.

Offline Norumph

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Bike: Tiger 800
  • Location: UK S.Yorks.
Re: Trying to use TigerTools but...
« Reply #22 on: August 10, 2018, 09:36:40 PM »
Yes, Ports (COM and LPT) shows up in Device Manager when I plug it in, COM 3, 4 or 5 depending which USB port I use. So it looks as though some of the software for that lead may be faulty rather than the computer.

Offline Norumph

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 15
  • Bike: Tiger 800
  • Location: UK S.Yorks.
Re: Trying to use TigerTools but...
« Reply #23 on: August 15, 2018, 09:30:38 PM »
I finally got TurboTom's recommended lead (the postman delivered it to the wrong address so it took a while to get my hands on it).
It works a treat and Tiger now has nicely balanced throttle bodies.
By the way, the Haynes manual says the vacuum pipe to the MAP sensor doesn't need to be connected, but there was no reading on Tiger Tool TBal with it disconnected.

Thank you T800XC and TurboTom!


Offline Turbotom

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
  • Location: Netherlands
Re: Trying to use TigerTools but...
« Reply #24 on: August 16, 2018, 06:04:21 PM »
 :031:
Tiger 800 XRx 2015 caspian blue

Offline j

  • Tiger Cub
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Bike: tiger 800
  • Location: prevalje
Re: Trying to use TigerTools but...
« Reply #25 on: September 03, 2018, 03:02:52 PM »
hi
where can i get tigertool?
thx

Online T800XC

  • Premier Member
  • Tiger Jedi
  • *
  • Posts: 1924
  • Bike: 800XC & Explorer
  • Location: English Riviera
Re: Trying to use TigerTools but...
« Reply #26 on: September 03, 2018, 04:56:50 PM »
*Originally Posted by j [+]
hi
where can i get tigertool?
thx
If you've just joined the forum after following a link to TigerTool  from another forum then the link is most likely to an out of date version which has been removed.
Search is your friend to find the latest version....Oh and pop over to the new member section and introduce yourself. It's just etiquette.

 :001:
  
...happiness isn't happiness without a violin-playing goat...

Offline tauzero

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 363
  • Bike: Tiger 800 XRx
  • Location: Tamworth, UK
Re: Trying to use TigerTools but...
« Reply #27 on: October 13, 2018, 11:03:06 PM »
*Originally Posted by T800XC [+]
:0461: although if Windows can't find a suitable driver I'd look at the driver chip manufacturer's website for one. The CDs go straight in the bin!

In my case, that's exactly what happened. Got a bbFLy lead from AliExpress for 11-50 (saved me a whole 4), and Yodel delivered it today (left it in a "safe place", on my front doorstep).



You may be able to see why the CD went straight in the bin.

The lead worked fine with TigerTool under Windows 10, BTW. https://www.aliexpress.com/item/bbfly-ELM327-USB-V1-5-FTDI-Chip-OBD-Auto-Diagnostic-Scanner-OBD2/32790694240.html for any other people who'd like to save a bit of money and aren't in a terrible hurry.
Tiger 800 XRx, Scrambler, SpeedTona, Speed Dent
Gone but not forgotten: Tiger 1050, Bonneville SE, Sprint ST 955i, Trophy 4, Sprint 900, Daytona 900, Tiger 900

Offline bucksfizz

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
  • Bike: 2018 Tiger XRT
  • Location: Somerset
Re: Trying to use TigerTools but...
« Reply #28 on: October 14, 2018, 02:16:26 PM »
*Originally Posted by tauzero [+]
Got a bbFLy lead from AliExpress for 11-50 (saved me a whole 4), and Yodel delivered it today (left it in a "safe place", on my front doorstep).

Thanks, tauzero  :028:.
I had one of those on my Amazon wish list for ages, but it was nearly 9.50 more expensive.
I can wait for Aliexpress to deliver - in no particular hurry.

 


Recent Topics


winded-staunch