Author [NL] [FR] [ES] [DE] [SE] [IT] Tiger 800 Too Big and Too Heavy Off Road  (Read 4218 times)

• Offline Bladerunner99   au

• Tiger Master  ‐    499
    • Topic Author

Offline Bladerunner99

• Tiger Master
    • Topic Author
    • Bike/Model: 2018 XCA
    Re: Tiger 800 Too Big and Too Heavy Off Road
    Reply #10 on: Jan 03, 2020, 11.19 pm
    Jan 03, 2020, 11.19 pm
    *Originally Posted by 9w6vx [+]
    Wow.... i reckon that's logical since the Tiger 800 is rather heavy.

I'm 53 and I would not dare to take my XR off-road due to my bad back and my rather poor offroad skills.

I am 55, 90kg and 5'11 Problem is my head makes appointments my body can't keep. 

I am no expert off road rider but do have a reasonable amount of experience, having ridden trail bikes back in the 90's when I lived in the UK, also trail riding in NZ when I lived there. 

These bikes are great and I am sure that my XCA is far more capable off road than I am at least on the XCA.  They are extremely heavy, too top heavy and the 'lower 1st gear' is not low enough (from factory).  I will limit my off road activities (on the triumph), to less challenging trails and hopefully invest in a more suitable lighter bike (sub 140kg), sometime in the future.
    Ride to work. Work to ride

• Online chuckxc   au

• Tiger Jedi  ‐    1186

Online chuckxc

• Tiger Jedi
    • Bike/Model: 12XC, 18XCX
    Reply #11 on: Jan 03, 2020, 11.40 pm
    Jan 03, 2020, 11.40 pm
    *Originally Posted by Bladerunner99 [+]
    Funny you should ask that!  As I parted company with the crew member before he was winched back up to the chopper, I apologised for calling them out and asked how much was this going to cost me, to which he replied "No worries mate, it gets me out of the office, and there is no charge for this service"

So if we're going to get stuck K1W1, best if we are in NSW!
    Laterally unstable unless moving.

My third Triple - 1976 Laverda 3CL Jota
    My 4cyl grunt - 2005 Honda CB1300F