Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Hopefully something that hasn't been asked about the 12k service  (Read 3639 times)

Offline awjdthumper

• Tiger Member
  • Bike: Tiger 800 XCA
Re: Hopefully something that hasn't been asked about the 12k service
« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2020, 05:55:45 PM »
I'm no expert on OHC engines but I was under the impression that both inlet and exhaust valve clearances tended to close up with time because the valve seats wear - I think the wear rate is greater for the exhaust valves. It would be interesting to know what other peoples experience has been with the Tiger 800?
Suzuki GSX1400, Armstrong MT560 + collection of classic British bikes

Offline tigerman1960

• Tiger Member
  • Ride triumph, for the journey ahead
  • Bike: tiger800 XCA
« Reply #11 on: March 09, 2020, 08:37:49 PM »
  :084: on all 4 of my tigers i have found that the inlet gaps open up and the exhaust close down, i have always thought this was because the inlet are a lot cooler than the exhaust, but i may be wrong, its just an assumption, due to expansion and contraction of metal somehow  :084:
never ride faster than you can think

Offline freeware

• Tiger Pro
  • Bike: Tiger 800
« Reply #12 on: March 09, 2020, 08:44:47 PM »
All three that I needed to adjust were too tight and were exhaust.

Offline awjdthumper

• Tiger Member
  • Bike: Tiger 800 XCA
« Reply #13 on: March 09, 2020, 10:17:40 PM »
I know a Haynes manual is probably not the best source of workshop knowledge but it recommends setting the clearances at the mid range. If you do that, I guess it doesn't really matter whether the inlet and exhaust clearances have increased or decreased - this approach to adjustment caters for either.