Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Less vibes, less 'power band' as such but AutoTune really works  (Read 1982 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Newhorizons

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bike: 2015XC
  • Location: Melb Aust
Going back last year I was looking for advice on tuning with Power Commander and Autotune.

Having then gone to a bike tuner and getting a map created on the dyno, plus a few minor adjustments put the bike in a way more responsive situation with around 10% better fuel economy.

Was never really happy with the Scorpion Muffler, way too loud without the baffle and restricted with 1/2 the baffle.

So whilst pondering my next move I decided to swap the Akrapovic muffler from my Bandit to the Triumph and noticed it was cleaner down low and not overly loud....  :028:

That got me to thinking time to play with the Commander and the AutoTune and the maps.

Watched some online You Tube video, and one guy in particular who was playing around had some really good feedback.

So I saved my Dyno Map, then accepted the Auto Tune tabs and had a good look through the Fuel tab numbers and the relationships.

As this guy said if you have largish values and/or swings and slides numbers (= % of fuel + or - to black box) ... then manually balance them out a bit becasue that reflects a bad tune. He had some examples and that made sense. Why would you have =15 in one cell then go +10 and then back into random negative again.

So the dyno map tabs were very swings and slides with large negative numbers in one cell going to positive in the next and then negative and up and down like a board game.
This was obviously compromised by the static environment of a dyno and not reflecting a 'ride' situation.

I accepted the first AutoTune tab table and it had a bit of that so I averaged the values out, if there were plus and minus I input the centre point or just zero'd.

Then went for a ride with a bit of Freeway and some open throttle when possible etc. Put the bike back on the PC then accepted the new Tabs, studied them and did some more averaging.

Next ride, WHOA how smooth is this, right from throttle open all the way through to the Red.

So the little vibrations and blips at certain revs are gone, (like the one from first to second around 3500) the steady mixture goes straight through what used to be the start of the 4k powerband feeling and omg look at the speedo....

So the fuel tabs are now way flatter and in the low numbers in typically the areas when you are on the gas and or it needs gas.

Next strategy is to do a long ride with higher speeds and throttle openings and get more values in against that map.... if it wasn't for Corona virus ...damn.

Then i could explore a second map on a toggle switch which would give me say a normal street map, and say a high country/touring map or a balance of Summer/Winter.

Bottom line, using the Autotune and averaging out some of the fuel tabs makes a huge difference.    :046: :047:

For those who change air filters, mid pipes, mufflers etc, Auto Tune is the way to get the best bang from the mods.


Offline TommyZ

  • Tiger Cub
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Thomas
  • Bike: Tiger 800 XC
  • Location: Bavaria/Germany
Re: Less vibes, less 'power band' as such but AutoTune really works
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2021, 12:59:17 PM »
Hello, please more informations.
O2-Sensor from Autotune ist bigger than original. Which adaption you made?
What to do with original sensor?
Thanks
Tiger 800 XC

Offline Newhorizons

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bike: 2015XC
  • Location: Melb Aust
Re: Less vibes, less 'power band' as such but AutoTune really works
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2021, 03:09:19 AM »
I bought the bike second hand and the Commander was already fitted.
It also had an aftermarket Scorpion Muffler and 'perhaps' the mid pipe was changed with the Muffler ??
Unfortunately I did not get any other parts so either there is an alternate o2 sensor available in the kit or perhaps the mid pipe was changed and that had a different sensor mount.
Sorry I cant give you a proper answer. 

Offline TommyZ

  • Tiger Cub
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Thomas
  • Bike: Tiger 800 XC
  • Location: Bavaria/Germany
Re: Less vibes, less 'power band' as such but AutoTune really works
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2021, 08:59:08 AM »
No problem, can you show a photo from the O2-sensor?
Tiger 800 XC

Offline Newhorizons

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bike: 2015XC
  • Location: Melb Aust
Re: Less vibes, less 'power band' as such but AutoTune really works
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2021, 05:15:24 AM »
Hey TommyZ.
Had a look at it today and it is well hidden above the 'bash plate' but covered by other bike parts parallel with the front of the bike.
So I cant get a picture from above and would need to pull the bash plate off (XcX) which is a bit of work.

I did realise that the headers and pipe is all standard so the wide band AF sensor is obviously matched to the bung just below the header intersection.
Personally I would have thought they are fairly standard sizes ???
Sorry I cant give you better feedback.

Offline TommyZ

  • Tiger Cub
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Thomas
  • Bike: Tiger 800 XC
  • Location: Bavaria/Germany
Re: Less vibes, less 'power band' as such but AutoTune really works
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2021, 10:10:48 AM »
No problem,
i have Power Commander V and autotune here, but the O2 sensor ist M18 and original sensor is M12. I just wanted to know if the original hole can be drilled larger and new thread cutting is possible.
Tiger 800 XC

Offline Newhorizons

  • Tiger Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Bike: 2015XC
  • Location: Melb Aust
Re: Less vibes, less 'power band' as such but AutoTune really works
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2021, 06:52:21 AM »
Wow, thats interesting.  I will try and see if I can get something down there to measure the thread size.
I am not sure how that process would go as I wonder if the thread is slightly tapered so that it tightens and locks in ??
It may be different to just a straight inner nut type thread, or maybe the sensor is tapered, or maybe not.
Perhaps you need to weld on a new thread mount (boss?), or is it that you need to get a smaller Sensor.
I feel that it is a wide band sensor so I am sure the Commander does not use the standard one ??

Perhaps look at the Commander Web Site and send them an email or query outlining the issue.
I would hope you don't have to buy another O2 and wiring loom as thyat could get expensive but pulling the pipes and enlarging the hole may not be easy/cheap either..
Was the Commander for a Tiger ?? Is that why there is a mismatch ??
Good luck and I will try and measure mine ... not sure how but I will try.
Cheers.

Offline TommyZ

  • Tiger Cub
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Thomas
  • Bike: Tiger 800 XC
  • Location: Bavaria/Germany
Re: Less vibes, less 'power band' as such but AutoTune really works
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2021, 09:34:30 AM »
It would only be interesting to know whether the O2 sensor has replaced the lambda sensor or is installed in addition.
If anyone else has any tips on this, please let me know.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2021, 09:37:13 AM by TommyZ »
Tiger 800 XC

Offline Djairouks

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 874
  • Bike: 2018 Tiger XRT
  • Location: Neuchtel
Re: Less vibes, less 'power band' as such but AutoTune really works
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2021, 07:18:19 PM »
*Originally Posted by TommyZ [+]
It would only be interesting to know whether the O2 sensor has replaced the lambda sensor or is installed in addition.
If anyone else has any tips on this, please let me know.

O2 and lambda sensor are the same thing, just different ways to call it, technically it's lambda, purpose of
it is monitoring the amount of oxygen molecules in the exhaust line, hence O2 sensor.

Offline HatesSnow

  • Tiger Cub
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Bike: 800 XC
  • Location: B.C Interior
Re: Less vibes, less 'power band' as such but AutoTune really works
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2021, 11:12:45 PM »
I installed the PCV and Autotune early in the spring of last year. That's exactly what I did - bought an M18.5x1.5 tap as well as a thread chaser and a 21/32 (16.50mm) drill bit. I drilled out the hole, ran the tap slowly into and out of it with lots of tap fluid and then ran the thread chaser through it to clean up the threads. It would be best to remove the header from the bike but I did it in place. So far no leaks and it works great. I was pretty meticulous about making sure everything was square whilst doing so though.

I've been impressed with the PCV/Autotune combination. I check the trims nearly every time after I ride the bike. After the first few rides the adjustments were minimal. I also need a nice long trip to see how that adjusts as well but as of yet covid has prevented that here.

 


Recent Topics


winded-staunch