Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Nissin Caliper Pad Pin - Top Tip  (Read 1217 times)

Offline Woodchukker

• Tiger Cub
  • Bike: '13 Tiger 800 XC
Nissin Caliper Pad Pin - Top Tip
« on: April 05, 2020, 07:32:16 PM »
Hey,

I'm new to the tiger, just bought a used 800xc. I didn't notice the brake calipers at first however, I noticed today that they are exactly the same as used to be fitted to previous generation Africa Twins and Transalps (probably many more models).

Anyway, on the above Honda's the Pad Pins and their Cover Cap/Screws are a much discussed pain in the proverbial, so as soon as I noticed them today I had a go at releasing the Cover Screws. As luck had it they came off easy enough which really is not always the case. I subsequently ordered up a set of Titanium Pins.

This is the top tip by the way, replace the pins with Titanium ones, discard the Cover Screws, they have no mechanical purpose. Once I a while, for example when oiling your chain, wind out your new Titanium pad screws then screw them back in again, just to keep the threads clean. Do not use copper grease or any other such substance. Welcome to hassle free pad changes, here comes the caveat, 'Trust me, it works'

On another note, the calipers used to suffer from rot. They would seize because of internal corrosion, requiring subsequent overhaul, only to need the same the following year. This became really tiresome for many, the reputed solution was changing the pistons for stainless steel ones although I have not verified this personally as a fix. Not sure if this is an issue on ours calipers either, but thought I would throw this little pearl out there.

Cheers.

Offline taff

• Tiger Master
  • Bike: Tiger XC
Re: Nissin Caliper Pad Pin - Top Tip
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2020, 09:02:40 PM »
this has been discussed here a few times.

My opinion is that your advice is dangerous.