Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Optimate 4  (Read 533 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rick B

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Bike: 2020 XRT
  • Location: Glossop Derby's
Optimate 4
« on: May 22, 2020, 07:29:41 PM »
How do again
Can i plug my hella/din whatever it is  from my Optimate 4 straight into the Aux socket of a 2020 XRT,I got the OPt 3 from Triumph but i already had the 4 from my BMW so i was hoping its a straight plug n play.
Cheers
The Perfect Woman,
A deaf and dumb nymphomaniac that runs an off-licence!

Online Stelyn

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 502
  • 2018 XRx
  • Bike: Tiger XRX
  • Location: Ashford. Kent.
Re: Optimate 4
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2020, 08:15:10 PM »

Thats where I plug my Optimate 4, works fine ....... :028:
`Only a Motorcyclist knows why a dog rides with  its head out of the car window '

Offline Tiger-Dave

  • Tiger Cub
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Bike: Tiger 800
  • Location: Ireland
Re: Optimate 4
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2020, 08:55:59 PM »
Ive been told that some of the optimate 4s are BMW specific, something to do with the canbus system.

Offline Wullie

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 367
  • Triumph Trophy TR6 (1969) Triumph Tiger 800 XCX
  • Location: Norwich
Re: Optimate 4
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2020, 10:27:05 PM »
*Originally Posted by Tiger-Dave [+]
Ive been told that some of the optimate 4s are BMW specific, something to do with the canbus system.

I have recently bought one of these. It can be switched from Canbus to non-Canbus as required. I think the BMW-friendly version is just set to Canbus out-of-the-box. Probably a marketing thing.  :027:

I reset mine to non-Canbus and plug it in to the Hella/Din beside the ignition and it works very well.

Alex

Offline Rick B

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Bike: 2020 XRT
  • Location: Glossop Derby's
Re: Optimate 4
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2020, 05:02:12 AM »
*Originally Posted by Wullie [+]
I have recently bought one of these. It can be switched from Canbus to non-Canbus as required. I think the BMW-friendly version is just set to Canbus out-of-the-box. Probably a marketing thing.  :027:

I reset mine to non-Canbus and plug it in to the Hella/Din beside the ignition and it works very well.

Alex
Thats what i was hoping to do.
Thanks
 :046: :046:
The Perfect Woman,
A deaf and dumb nymphomaniac that runs an off-licence!

Online Stelyn

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 502
  • 2018 XRx
  • Bike: Tiger XRX
  • Location: Ashford. Kent.
Re: Optimate 4
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2020, 11:06:12 AM »

Rick, should of added, I originally bought my Optimate 4,  to use with a BMW rt, later traded the BMW for a Triumph Trophy and it worked perfectly.   Currently used daily on the Tiger, no issues,     :028:
`Only a Motorcyclist knows why a dog rides with  its head out of the car window '

Offline Rick B

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Bike: 2020 XRT
  • Location: Glossop Derby's
Re: Optimate 4
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2020, 01:04:32 PM »
*Originally Posted by Stelyn [+]
Rick, should of added, I originally bought my Optimate 4,  to use with a BMW rt, later traded the BMW for a Triumph Trophy and it worked perfectly.   Currently used daily on the Tiger, no issues,     :028:
Thanks :152:
The Perfect Woman,
A deaf and dumb nymphomaniac that runs an off-licence!

Offline geordielad

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Bike: Tiger 800 XRT
  • Location: Wirral
Re: Optimate 4
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2020, 07:41:16 AM »
*Originally Posted by Stelyn [+]
Rick, should of added, I originally bought my Optimate 4,  to use with a BMW rt, later traded the BMW for a Triumph Trophy and it worked perfectly.   Currently used daily on the Tiger, no issues,     :028:

 :0461:
Same for me - but RT directly to Tiger no issues.
Don't ask the question if you don't want to hear the answer!

Offline Rick B

  • Tiger Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Bike: 2020 XRT
  • Location: Glossop Derby's
Re: Optimate 4
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2020, 01:41:09 PM »
Thanks for all the help folks i suppose that's what forums are for.Just out of curiosity is the Aux socket on the headstock permanent live?
Cheers
Rick
The Perfect Woman,
A deaf and dumb nymphomaniac that runs an off-licence!

Offline tauzero

  • Tiger Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 623
  • Bike: Tiger 800 XRx
  • Location: Tamworth, UK
Re: Optimate 4
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2020, 01:59:10 PM »
*Originally Posted by Rick B [+]
Thanks for all the help folks i suppose that's what forums are for.Just out of curiosity is the Aux socket on the headstock permanent live?
Cheers
Rick

Probably - it is on the earlier ones. Just plug the charger into that socket with the ignition off and see what it does.
Tiger 800 XRx, Bonneville T120 Black, SpeedTona, Speed Dent
Gone but not forgotten: Scrambler 900, Tiger 1050, Bonneville SE, Sprint ST 955i, Trophy 4, Sprint 900, Daytona 900, Tiger 900, Trident 900

 


Recent Topics


winded-staunch