Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Time for new tyres  (Read 2876 times)

Online matt748

• Tiger Pro
  • Bike: 800 XRX
Time for new tyres
« on: September 15, 2020, 07:52:27 AM »
Sitrep: Michelin Road 5s, fitted last year. Front 2mm, Rear 3mm. Theyve done 6508 miles.

Ive been impressed with them. Sure footed, no problems and mileage is reasonable.

My choices:
1. Same again
2. Dunlop Roadsmart III
3. Metzler Roadtec 01SE

I have no experience of Dunlops or Metzler on bikes but they come out well in reviews. All my riding is on tarmac.
I know tyre threads are very subjective, but any thoughts? Thanks, Matt

Offline mcinlb

• Tiger Master
  • Bike: 2020 Tiger 900GT
Re: Time for new tyres
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2020, 08:57:31 AM »
Don't think they do an "01SE" in a 19" front...

Online Q

• Tiger Pro
  • Bike: 800 XCA
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2020, 09:43:45 AM »
*Originally Posted by matt748 [+]
...  any thoughts? Thanks, Matt

if you had even a smidgen of dirt or gravel in your riding, I would have had no hesitation in recommending the Dunlop Trailmax Missions - even so, they will look the part on your XRX

although I've not run them in the wet as yet, a mate on a GS with Dunlops fitted, had nothing but praise for both on-/off-road performance up the Sani pass two weeks ago in rain, sleet, snow, and gorrila-snot conditions

have always had good service/performance out of the Metzeler Roadtec 01's even on heavier and higher performance bikes than the Tiger - that would be my recommendation in this particular instance
When you talk, you only repeat what you already know - when you listen, you learn something new

Offline Rtwo

• Tiger Jedi
  • Bike: KTM 1290 SAS
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2020, 10:06:29 AM »
TBH all the major brands are good, compared to what we had to ride on in the 70s when powerful mass produced bikes became easily available, they're amazing.