Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Noob advice - Tiger 900, buy or not?  (Read 826 times)

Offline madmic

• Tiger Cub
  • Bike: Z100sx
Noob advice - Tiger 900, buy or not?
« on: February 12, 2021, 02:08:43 PM »
Hi All, newbie here - currently riding a Z1000sx (apologies for the language) and looking to change since riding a 800 whilst doing the Triumph Off-Road course 18 months ago - which by the way is excellent! Though I swear my Zed has cottoned on I'm tempted to trade her in for a younger model...

Can't quite step down to the Tiger 800 and didn't really like the "in" the bike riding position. Been eyeing up the 900's since launch and have a test ride booked for tomorrow covid safe and apparently allowed  :002: but  :190:

My question is around pricing, a new 900 GP Pro is 13,100, there is a secondhand GT Pro (same spec) 2.5k miles for 12,100. This seems top-end to me? Or is it because these bikes are so in demand with supply shortages?

Do I go for a secondhand GT Pro and get it now - hoping lockdown eases - or plump for a new bike and wait out whatever the waiting list is?

Factory spec with the toys and bits I want ramps the cost up to 14,500  :156: most of this is panniers. Think I could get away with the topbox and a rollbag for long weekends away - what do other people use?

Any opinions or advice are most welcomed  :001:

Offline Explorer

• Tiger Cub
  • Bike: ZX7R; Scrambler
Re: Noob advice - Tiger 900, buy or not?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2021, 03:17:31 PM »
Go for the new one. I've ordered one, with lots of bits...about 14500...but still got more than a few quid knocked off. The price on the second hand bike seems excessive,

Offline madmic

• Tiger Cub
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2021, 03:52:04 PM »
Interesting - can I ask when you ordered yours and what was the wait time?

Offline Explorer

• Tiger Cub
  • Bike: ZX7R; Scrambler
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2021, 04:13:05 PM »