Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Hepco and Becker upper tank protection bars issue. Tiger 900  (Read 3530 times)

matt748 and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline flyingburrito

• Tiger Member
  • Knees in the breeze
  • Bike: 900 Rally Pro
Hepco and Becker upper tank protection bars issue. Tiger 900
« on: March 07, 2021, 07:03:05 PM »
Just an FYI for everyone

I've had a serious issue with the Hepco and Becker upper tank protection bars.      The front bolts to the front motor mount both snapped after 4 months of use (approx 2000 miles), with a lot of off-roading.    THe first question asked by the retailer "Did you overtighten them"....no, I did not. I've got 40 years of backyard mechanic experience.  I know not to over-tighten bolts.   I also used blue Loc-Tite on them and rechecked their tightness a number of times after installation.   -  Hepco and Becker do not provide torque specs in the installation instructions...this is a critical engine/frame mounting point...why are torque specs not provided?

THe 2nd question they asked "Did I drop the bike"...no, I had not dropped the bike on the bars.   But what does that say...do the bolts break if you drop the bike?

Both bolts broke off in the frame.   I had to have them professionally removed as this was NOT something I wanted to risk damaging the frame/engine mounts.

I sent one bolt to the retailer to review and sent back to H and B for analysis.  I'm going to have the other bolt analyzed locally.  I'm waiting to hear back from the retailer on H and Bs response.

I have removed the bars completely...I'm not going to risk this happening again until I receive a response back from the retailer/Hepco and Becker

2020 Tiger 900 Rally Pro
Check out my Rally Pro vids @ https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS6zojgZ5rzWpKNf1_MPf9Q/videos

Offline Agfish18

• Tiger Cub
Re: Hepco and Becker upper tank protection bars issue. Tiger 900
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2021, 06:40:46 PM »