Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Hepco and Becker upper tank protection bars issue. Tiger 900  (Read 2256 times)

Offline Djairouks

• Tiger Master
  • Bike: 2018 Tiger XRT
Re: Hepco and Becker upper tank protection bars issue. Tiger 900
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2021, 07:29:11 PM »
*Originally Posted by flyingburrito [+]
The retailers response on torque:  "   I agree 100% with you that the instructions would only benefit from having the proper torque settings provided. When replacing bolts with the higher spec ones the torque setting often drops compared to what the factory, Triumph, calls for. "

No specs provided.   Are the bolts a higher grade?    Physics changed due to long spacers and longer bolts provided.   

So many variables here.

13 years ago I worked in tech customer sales services, this is typical smokescreen reply, agreeing sligthly
with you but still not giving any more info nor solutions, when you're in trouble !
This does not really scream of good engineering and analysis...

The only crash bars I trust are outback motortek and have never had problems with them.

Hope H&B will not try to bamboozle you.

Offline jaredjensen

• Tiger Cub
  • Bike: 900 Rally
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2021, 02:36:33 PM »
*Originally Posted by flyingburrito [+]
THe first question asked by the retailer "Did you overtighten them"....no, I did not.

I put the same bars on last night and posted in triumphrat about the torque specs, but ended up torquing them to 30nm based on https://www.triumphrat.net/threads/torque-settings-info.6676/ and what "felt about right".  I didn't use any threadlock since the OEM bolts didn't appear to have any; I figured I'd just check them again in a few hundred miles.  Do you recall what you torqued yours to?  And please keep up posted if you hear anything more from H&B.

Offline jaredjensen

• Tiger Cub
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2021, 03:37:12 PM »