Triumph Tiger 800 Forum

Tiger 800 / 900 - Main Discussion Section => ECU Re-Mapping and Tuning => Topic started by: T800XC on October 03, 2020, 03:00:44 PM

Title: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: T800XC on October 03, 2020, 03:00:44 PM
I'm fixing a couple of known bugs / issues in TigerTool V3.0, but for one of them I need access to a Tiger 900.

The first bug also existed in V2.5 but I didn't realise what it it was until I noticed that Triumph have changed where in the ECU's memory they store the tune reference number. I have this one sorted now.

The second bug is that TigerTool can't read the DTCs from the ECU on the 900s because it appears that Triumph may have changed the location for that too.

Ideally I need to get access to a local (Devon) Tiger 900 for maybe an hour with my laptop to figure this out. Any Tiger 900 owners around these parts got an hour free?
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: Thripster on October 04, 2020, 11:28:23 AM
Hi Rich,

In addition to my PM, here are the screen dumps (couldn't do this using PM as 'Upload Images' icon not present).

(https://photos-cdn.tiger800.co.uk/Screenshot-1.png)
(https://photos-cdn.tiger800.co.uk/Screenshot-2.png)
(https://photos-cdn.tiger800.co.uk/Screenshot-3.png)
(https://photos-cdn.tiger800.co.uk/Screenshot-4.png)
(https://photos-cdn.tiger800.co.uk/Screenshot-5.png)
(https://photos-cdn.tiger800.co.uk/Screenshot-6.png)


Regards


Neil
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: T800XC on October 04, 2020, 11:33:31 AM
Thanks for the images.  :028:

For anyone else looking, you'll notice that the tune number now reads correctly and 'Tune2' has been replaced with 'Cal / Build' to more accurately describe the data.

Once the 900's DTC bug has been fixed I'll issue a proper updated version instead of the development version that's shown.
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: T800XC on October 16, 2020, 11:40:39 AM
*Originally Posted by T800XC [+]
I'm fixing a couple of known bugs / issues in TigerTool V3.0, but for one of them I need access to a Tiger 900.

The first bug also existed in V2.5 but I didn't realise what it it was until I noticed that Triumph have changed where in the ECU's memory they store the tune reference number. I have this one sorted now.

The second bug is that TigerTool can't read the DTCs from the ECU on the 900s because it appears that Triumph may have changed the location for that too.

Ideally I need to get access to a local (Devon) Tiger 900 for maybe an hour with my laptop to figure this out. Any Tiger 900 owners around these parts got an hour free?

Just bumping this one up as I'm still looking for access to a 900 to fix the DTC reading bug.
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: Thripster on October 16, 2020, 05:53:26 PM
I feel for you Tiger800XC..........come on guys and gals........ let's try and help somebody who has spent a lot of time helping us. I would gladly loan my bike if it were a 900.
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: Q on October 16, 2020, 05:58:24 PM
how about taking a 900 from a local dealer for a "test ride"?

come on forum peeps - he's put in hours on our behalf - help!
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: Thripster on October 17, 2020, 06:13:47 AM
I think that this request may be better observed in the 'General' topic section.......there just doesn't seem to be the footfall here
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: T800XC on October 17, 2020, 06:43:25 AM
*Originally Posted by Thripster [+]
I think that this request may be better observed in the 'General' topic section.......there just doesn't seem to be the footfall here

Might be worth a shot, but the problem with that is clutter with posts in the wrong places.

I guess it depends how people have things setup. My forum links are set to 'unread' and 'recent'. That way I catch all new posts across all sections.

i.e.
https://www.tiger800.co.uk/index.php?action=unread

https://www.tiger800.co.uk/index.php?action=recent

Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: rainbow-walker on January 22, 2021, 11:17:00 AM
Hiya, Tiger 900 owner and I've successfully used JPDiag on my previous bike (Ducati 899) and am now looking at similar for the Tiger.  I'm just checking the leads I have are compatible, but happy to help if I can to resolve the DTC location issue ?  Unfortunately I am not local though (East Midlands).

Also a Mac user, but find that Parallels emulator works perfectly well assuming its Windows only (that's how I used JPDiag).

RBW.

*Edit - found the leads, looks OK although I assume you dont need an adaptor cable between OBD2 and the bike which I did on the Duc.

(https://images.weserv.nl/?url=ssl:live.staticflickr.com/65535/50861975373_5a2fc40c09_z.jpg)

*Edited again - that works fine !

(https://images.weserv.nl/?url=ssl:live.staticflickr.com/65535/50862854247_6fcd40196b_z.jpg)
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: T800XC on May 15, 2021, 04:02:46 PM
Bumping this one up again as I'm still looking for access to a 900 to fix the DTC reading bug.

I've added a new feature to fix the service date reset, so I just need to get the 900's DTC reading sorted and I can issue a new release.
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: Alan B on May 17, 2021, 11:14:56 AM
Hi Richard,

If you're ever up my way (near Weston super Mare) happy for you to have a play with my 900, unfortunately at the moment have no plans to come down your way.

cheers,
Alan
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: T800XC on May 17, 2021, 11:39:21 AM
Thanks Alan, I'll certainly bear that in mind. Would make a good day trip!  :028:
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: DFW900GTRider on June 06, 2021, 05:12:00 PM
Whoa, I was really hoping that by now this problem has been solved...

Is there anything that we can do remotely for you to help read the DTC codes from the 900?

I used Tiger Tool 3.0 with no issues to reset the maintenance light but then last week, I replaced the rear tire and now the bike has a service wrench on it and I have no idea what it wants.

Sigh...
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: rainbow-walker on June 06, 2021, 06:57:15 PM
It's probably not related, but if the battery is disconnected it resets the date and time and then you end up getting a wrench showing as its related to date.  Might just be worth checking the date is correct (although can't imagine you went near the battery with a tyre change !)

RBW.


*Originally Posted by DFW900GTRider [+]
Whoa, I was really hoping that by now this problem has been solved...

Is there anything that we can do remotely for you to help read the DTC codes from the 900?

I used Tiger Tool 3.0 with no issues to reset the maintenance light but then last week, I replaced the rear tire and now the bike has a service wrench on it and I have no idea what it wants.

Sigh...
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: DFW900GTRider on June 06, 2021, 08:04:11 PM
It is a good thought, thank you, alas not it. I checked. 🤔
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: DFW900GTRider on June 06, 2021, 08:26:42 PM
Ah, I figured out what the problem is:

TigerTool 3 at this time does NOT reset the "date" of maintenace... so under the bike menu, the maintenance shows to be 6000 miles away (I just did another reset) but the date shows "6/6/2021 (Today)". I saw it here that there will be an option to reset the date separately:

https://www.tiger800.co.uk/index.php/topic,29606.0.html

Looking forward to the new version!  :037:
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: T800XC on June 07, 2021, 11:28:33 AM
*Originally Posted by DFW900GTRider [+]
Whoa, I was really hoping that by now this problem has been solved...

Is there anything that we can do remotely for you to help read the DTC codes from the 900?

Hopefully, yes, once I've had chance to create the debug version. I was looking at adding a few features before that step but they'll have to wait.
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: DFW900GTRider on June 07, 2021, 02:46:17 PM
*Originally Posted by T800XC [+]
Hopefully, yes, once I've had chance to create the debug version. I was looking at adding a few features before that step but they'll have to wait.

As it happens, there is a workaround for reading of DTCs on the new Tiger. DTCs can be read with no additional tools as follows:

Engine start/stop button into ON position
Hold joystick button in UP position
Press and hold the MODE button
Give it contact with the bike key (not turn the engine on, just contact)

When the screen boots up, it will show ECU and ABS DTCs, if present.

So actually - the reset of the service date is the only current significant issue that we cannot do on the 900/850 using TigerTool 3... is there hope you'd put out 3.1 with that functionality before debug version is done?  :001:
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: T800XC on June 07, 2021, 02:55:59 PM
That DTC check method has been mentioned before, but is very useful nonetheless.


*Originally Posted by DFW900GTRider [+]
So actually - the reset of the service date is the only current significant issue that we cannot do on the 900/850 using TigerTool 3... is there hope you'd put out 3.1 with that functionality before debug version is done?  :001:
V3.1 is the latest version (exists on the Triumph Trophy forum as I added support for that model after requests), but a V3.2 debug version with service date reset and possibly some DTC debugging will be along shortly. I'll PM you a download link as soon as it's ready (days at most, not weeks!).
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: T800XC on June 10, 2021, 08:15:53 PM
I think I've found the bug on the Tiger 900 DTC check failure so some good progress this evening on that and the service date reset.

I'll test the code when back from the pub later tonight. If all goes well I should have a debug version for others to test on their 900s (and other TFT-equipped models that need the service date resetting) in the next day or so.

 :031:
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: DFW900GTRider on June 10, 2021, 08:20:56 PM
 :493:
Title: Re: TigerTool Help - Access to a Tiger 900 needed
Post by: T800XC on June 11, 2021, 01:11:57 AM
*Originally Posted by T800XC [+]
I think I've found the bug on the Tiger 900 DTC check failure so some good progress this evening on that and the service date reset.

I'll test the code when back from the pub later tonight. If all goes well I should have a debug version for others to test on their 900s (and other TFT-equipped models that need the service date resetting) in the next day or so.

 :031:
Well the eyes might have struggled to focus after a late night at the pub and a few pints of cider :087: but the changes seem to be working fine on my Tiger 1200. Debug version should be avaiable later today for those that want to try it on their 900s. Fingers crossed that's the DTC bug fixed.